Club Awards

Each year we have an awards night where there are presentations of trophies won by club members throughout the year. These include the prizes won as part of the club handicap, grand prix and championship. There are also discretionary prizes awarded by the committee. These prizes are awarded for significant achievement either through running or contributions to the club.

Past Award Recipients

This list does not include prizes awards for the club competitions (handicap, grand prix and championship).


Award Men’s Ladies
Best Newcomer Ben Chown Claudia Burrough
Most Improved
Dom Woodbridge Steph Harvey
Discretionary Improvement
Paul Donohoe
Laurie Johnston     James Walsh          Reyadh Mallam-Hassam
Alice Pike
Rike Jones         Carla Cotton Aimee Stopford
Merit Award Paul Keddie
Achievement Award Joseph Gonzalez
President’s Award Peter Tozer
Handicap Competition Chris Dormer


Award Men’s Ladies
Best Newcomer Dmitry Selemir Laura McSharry
Most Improved
James Eaton Diana Kimura
Discretionary Improvement
Mark Ronaldson
Daniel Street
Cass Brewer
Jacqueline Chang Laura Hooke
Merit Award Danny Norman
Achievement Award Greg Whiteman
President’s Award Steve Ramek
Handicap Competition John Reardon & Steve Back


Award Men’s Ladies
Best Newcomer James Walsh  Carla Cotton 
Most Improved  Mark Cannings  Fiona Watters
Merit Award Bev Gow 
Achievement Award  Laurie Johnston (62 10k runs in 62 days)
President’s Award Kevin Stone 
Handicap Competition Lizzie Wilson


Award Men’s Ladies
Best Newcomer Anthony Whelan Victoria Haslam
Most Improved Geoff Tookey Daisy Street
Merit Award John Bennett
(Membership and Imber Court relays)
Achievement Award Ann Bath
(24 hour World Record)
President’s Award Michael Bryant
Handicap Competition Mark Cannings & Alan Harding


Award Men’s Ladies
Best Newcomer Richard Hall Sarah Lothian
Most Improved Joe Chang

Andrea Bennett & Kirstie Mitchell

Merit Award Danny Norman – Club Branding
Achievement Award Mark Weight – John O’Groat to Lands End Record Breaking Team Relay
President’s Award Kevin Stone – Zero2Hero
Handicap Competition Richard Kirk


Award Men’s Ladies
Best Newcome Lawrence Bromley Ellen Lambrix
Most Improved Alastair McGeoch-Willams Vicki Kirk
Merit Award Richard Kirk
Achievement Award Sonia Pritchard
President’s Award Neil Sunderland
Handicap Competition David Pearce

Surbiton's friendly running club. Open to runners of all standards, fast or slow. We participate in local races of all distances.